This website utilises cookies in order to secure its features and facilitate browsing by users, pursuant to its copyright, privacy & cookies policy. By clicking on "OK" button, the user accepts suck cookies' use
Privacy & Cookie policy OK
Tappi investing in Next Generation of Industry Leaders  College Students
trade associations

30 June 2010

Tappi investing in Next Generation of Industry Leaders College Students

TAPPI announces that its William L. Cullison Scholarship Committee has made its selections for this year. The award is named in honor of the Association's fifth Executive Director, an extraordinary industry leader.
Attracting talented young people to future careers in the pulp and paper, corrugated container, or polymers, laminations, adhesives, coatings and extrusion industries is the cornerstone to building a highly skilled workforce and a technically advanced industry. Scholarships( ) are TAPPI's way to support this important initiative and to nurture the development of future leaders.
The William L. Cullison Scholarship , in particular, supports students entering their third year of college to pursue an academic path related to this vital work. It represents the pinnacle of TAPPI scholarships. The following awards, all expressed in U.S. dollars, have been made:

$2000 to Levi Harrington, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities, for his final semester in the fall of 2010
$6000 ($2000 per semester) to Casey Kick, Western Michigan University, for his last three semesters (Fall 2010, Spring 2011, Fall 2011) As background, TAPPI's members classify themselves into divisions on joining to further their professional development and to create compelling industry programming. The divisions are generally organized along either functional lines or market segments related to the pulp, paper, and converting industries. Each division may choose to provide additional support of its own.
For 2010 the technical division scholarship winners are:

Coating and Graphic Arts Division

Benjamin Halka, Clemson University
Corrugated Packaging Division

Colby Jackson, North Carolina State University (John O. Telesca Engineering Scholarship)
Allison Littman, Clemson University (Bobst Corrugated Scholarship)
Katelyn McInerney, Clemson University (MHI Corrugated Scholarship)
Richard Pridgen, North Carolina State University (Corrugated Packaging Division Scholarship)

Engineering Division

Johnathan Roesch, North Carolina State University (Engineering Division Scholarship)
Allison Littman, Clemson University (Douglas Barton Memorial Environmental Working Group Scholarship)

NET (Nonwovens Engineers and Technologists) Division

Ashley Massey, North Carolina State University Paper and Board Division
Jennifer Aho, University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Casey Kick, Western Michigan University

Process and Product Quality Division

Michael Woolford, North Carolina State University

The PLACE (Polymers Laminations Adhesives Coatings Extrusions) Division decided not to award a scholarship this year.

The scholarship committees expressed appreciation for the high quality of this year's applicants.